Adjacent Fields / Via Dolorosa (books 7 and 8)

Adjacent Fields / Charles Barouch

Synopsis – A little inventor and an emotionally compromised business negotiator team up to promote a teleportation device. They convince investors to invest, and the government freaks out and attempts to intervene. Along the way, a field of colleagues, friends, and family members wrestle with death, sexuality, ethnicity, and familial dysfunction.

Reaction – The mechanism of the mysterious teleportations wasn’t explained until the end, but then the “explanation” itself wasn’t explained. The teleportation demonstration scenes struck me as slight-of-hand. Even after reading the scenes several times, I didn’t understand how the teleportation demonstrations were believable. But further into the story, I was able to suspend my disbelief as all my attention was focused on the overabundance of characters and the overabundance of sub-plots. But I’m glad I stuck it out. I’m an experimental writer, and this book is experimental writing, in my opinion. Soft sci fi adjacent to a multitude of tangential character studies is new to me. This is a book I will be reading again.

Recommendation – This book renewed my will to live.

Get it here – http://www.amazon.com/Adjacent-Fields-Charles-Barouch-ebook/dp/B00ANF7D7A

*

Via Dolorosa / Ronald Malfi

Synopsis – A newlywed Iraq war veteran from the USA honeymoons with his bride on a stormy island. Their stay is complimentary, as he is an artist by trade, and is painting a mural at their hotel. But not all is happily-ever-after. His painting hand was mangled in the war, and he’s suffering from PTSD. And his wife told him a terrible secret. And he has a terrible secret of his own. When they befriend a free-spirited, seductive photographer, the wedge between them deepens, and he suspects he will lose his mind. Or maybe he already has…

Reaction – Lush. Tropical. Moody. The book starts out slow and full of promise, and the pace quickens throughout the story. The promise is delivered with an explosive ending, then the dénouement. Vivid descriptions of sight, sound, and smell. Believable characters in the throes of believable sorrow. What is real and what is madness? I could only surmise, as I was right there, in the story.

Recommendation – This book renewed my will to live.

Get it here – http://www.amazon.com/Via-Dolorosa-Ronald-Malfi-ebook/dp/B00756ALXI

*

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Both of these sound good from your reviews, CM… I’m drawn to Adjacent Fields for some reason…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 120 other followers

