HOT! Funky Salsa and Caipiroska- Recipes

Whoo-Hoo! Most of you reading this are in the heat of the summer, so it’s time to take a break from writing or reading or working or doing nothing and turn up the heat even more with some Salsa . . or cool off with a Caipiroska. Or both (I recommend both). These recipes are quick and easy once you have the ingredients gathered.

First, an instructional video I found on youtube on how to de-seed and peel a mango. It’s the quickest and easiest method I’ve seen (the video has no instructional audio, turn down the volume unless you want to hear a dog growling and barking):

Or you could just hack away at the mango like I do.

*

*

 

Quick and Easy HOT! Mango-Avocado-Tomato Salsa

The following combination of ingredients may seem odd to the un-funkified, but trust me, it’s AWESOME. Like spicy-hot candy.

1 Mango, de-seeded, peeled, and diced

1 Avocado, de-seeded, peeled, and diced

1 cup diced Tomatoes, well-drained

½ cup Red Bell Pepper, diced

½ cup Purple Onion, diced

3 cloves Garlic, minced

1 bunch Cilantro, chopped

2 teaspoons Sea Salt

1 tablespoon Lime Juice

generous sprinkle of crushed, mixed Peppercorns

generous sprinkle of dried Red Pepper Flakes

generous sprinkle of Cayenne Powder

Tortilla Chips

Note: I like my salsa hot and salty. Adjust the ingredients as you see fit.

 

Thoroughly mix all ingredients, except the tortilla chips, in a large bowl. Done!

*

*

 

QUICKEST & EASIEST Caipiroska AKA Caipiroshka AKA Caipivodka

2 ounces Vodka

1 tablespoon Lime Juice

2 teaspoons granulated or Turbinado Sugar

Crushed Ice

 

Mix juice and sugar. Pour in vodka and stir well until the sugar is dissolved. Add crushed ice and stir to melt some of the ice. Done!

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Yum, this all looks very tasty, thanks for sharing 😀

    Reply
  2. Yummy! My weekend just got better. Thanks! 🙂

    Reply
  3. This salsa sounds delicious…checking my CSA box for the ingredients. 🙂

    Reply
    • It’s so good and very flexible. 🙂 I hope you find your ingredients.

      My town started a Farmer’s Market this year- I haven’t gone yet because I just recently found out about it. CBA boxes sound great! I just now did a search and the closest one I could find is far away. But I get the pick of my in-laws’ gardens.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

