“Christmas Card from a Hooker in Minneapolis”- a Flash Fiction Tale

Christmas Card from a Hooker in Minneapolis“*

Dec. 18

Merry Xmas Tommy

I know its been a long time. You moved again but I tracked you down. And guess what

Tommy Im Pregnant.

The Baby is yours merry xmas daddy! I know its a boy gonna name him Tommy Jr.
cravin pickles and steak

pickles dont cost too much can get them free at the bar.

But Steak thats hard 3 or 4 hours to earn a steak and sometimes it rains. i get so cold. hope the baby dont mind.

Gonna really try this time. I Promise. No more H no more booze. You will see. For my kids I promise gonna work hard for my family. For you. Even little Tammy shes 3 now still at nanas. But you and me can take her back any time as long as Im clean nana said.

.

Dec. 20

got me a Real Husband got married proper in Church with a ring and every thing. my old man has money owns the gas station where you used to work! you will never be nothin tommy! you no good grease monkey. so don’t even think of comin up here and bother me and my old man. My Old Man will knock you out he is jealous. so forget about it tommy we are over

and guess what its his baby.

.

Dec. 23

i don’t have a husband

and tommy i need to borrow some money
its for my lawyer i promise
they wanna put me in jail but i have a home now for us tommy. help me out tommy. you gotta do right by me. if you pay my lawyer they will let me outta here in a few months. do it for your baby tommy jr

i love you

love, your honey pot

.

Dec. 30

merry xmas tommy got the place all nice for your home coming. red green tinsel and lights a real happy home. come home tommy the warden can let you in. hennepin on 4th ave. dont forget my xmas spirit i like the one with the silver label. please tommy they wont let me have nothin in here. they took tommy jr away.

.

.

*Title and inspiration by Tom Waits.

.

.

Thanks to Thomas Pluck of Flash Fiction Friday for this flash fiction challenge!

Leave a comment

15 Comments

  1. Wow, CM… real good one. That was one from the heart.

    Reply
  2. This was riveting. Wouldn’t mind reading more of this. Not at all…!

    Reply
  3. Great story! I love these characters. So sad. Reminds me of a cousin of mine… :/ I would definitely love to see these guys again, too.

    Reply
    • Interesting- this story also reminds me of my cousin- or rather, my cousin’s family. Tommy, Honey “Honey Pot” Potter, Tommy Jr, little Tammy, and Nana are now on my story list for next year. Thank you for your comments!

      Reply
  4. I love the feeling of hopelessness. The selfish nature of an addict comes across really well. It even felt like a Tom Waits song.

    Reply
  5. Can’t say I enjoyed it. Brought back some bad memories. But then that’s what good writing often does. Well done.

    Reply
    • My goal with my writing is some kind of reaction, so I can say I achieved that. Sorry about the bad memories, though. And thank you!

      Reply
  6. Gut-wrenching. So well written!

    Reply
  7. Wow. So powerful and dark. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  1. FFF Cycle 60: Tom Waits stories | Flash Fiction Friday

Leave a Reply

