Stewart Royalty at Dunnottar Castle, part 2

AKA

Schoolgirl Photoshoot

* * * * *

Here’s how this project started:

Stewart Royalty at Dunnottar Castle, part 1

* * * * *

So Christmas New Year’s Day Valentine’s Day Easter has come and gone and I’ve finally finished my tartan jumpers. I am pleased with how they look, and proud that I made a couple outfits I can wear in polite company.

I made each jumper by sewing 2 pieces of material together- a bib and a skirt. The skirts are wrap-around and fasten with 2 buttons. I pleated the 2 tartans differently according to the pattern of stripes. This resulted in the red jumper wrapping around my waist 1 1/2 times, and the blue jumper wrapping around less than that. The result was unattached side corners on my blue bib. I remedied this by sewing Velcro to the inside of both sides of the waist, securing the bib corners to the skirt. You can see the Velcro stitching to the left of my thumb.

To go with the outfits, I altered my husband’s tuxedo shirt (with his permission). I re-hemmed the bottom and re-seamed the sleeves and sides to make it fit me better. Then I cut off the collar and sewed on a new collar I made from scrap material from the bottom of the shirt. The cuffs were floppy, so I folded and sewed those as well.

To top it all off, I sewed a couple matching headbands.

Because I didn’t use a pattern, and knew very little about sewing, I climbed a steep learning curve with this project. Many of the pleat stitches are redundant, as are some of the hem stitches. The waists don’t perfectly match up when they’re wrapped around, and I have some bare corners where I didn’t extend the bias tape all the way to the edges. On close inspection, the shirt collar looks like a mad spider sewed it. (I ended up sewing several passes of zigzag stitching to join several layers of bias tape with pleats on a curve). My seam ripper got a good workout. But overall, I’d say this project was a success!

* * * * *

Here I am extensively modeling my tartan jumpers:

* * * * *

And now a BONUS KITTY PHOTO for those who scrolled through to the end!

* * * * *

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Love it. I think Simplicity should hire you as their cover model – you look maaahvelous, dahling!

    Reply
    • Why thank you! 🙂 “It’s better to look good than to feel good,” as my feet kept telling me that day. (Size 10 shoes don’t always act like size 10 shoes.)

      Reply
  2. You did such a great job! I’m impressed. 🙂 And love the kitty!

    Reply
  3. christophergronlund

     /  April 19, 2012

    What little bit of sewing I’ve tried in my life leads me to believe those who can do it are magic users of sorts. Very cool! I’ve been meaning to reply to you because I remember when you started planning the outfits. A friend from high school who recently moved to Scotland just visited Dunnottar Castle this week, and my wife is working with a tartan pattern today.

    The Stewart tartan is a fave around here!

    Reply
    • Yep, machine sewing is totally magic (transcends my comprehension). I just turn on the machine and let it do its thing.

      Your friend is lucky to see Dunnottar Castle in person. I’ve visited Dunnottar and walked along the cliff many times in my mind. I love the dreary beauty of the view from the front window when it rains in the evening, and the crash of the waves against the cliff sides into the night. My back-burner WIP has some Dunnottar castle and cliff scenes, very dramatic and romantic and tragic.

      Perhaps I’ll get to see your wife’s tartan project and compare notes! 🙂

      Reply
  4. Texanne

     /  April 20, 2012

    You should be very happy–look at the beautiful jumpers you’ve made for yourself. And you look totally Stewart in them. Good for you! And I also love the kitty. :)TX

    Reply

Leave a Reply

