Book A Day May (AKA BookDayMay)

Attribution: Johannes Jansson/norden.org

Attribution: Johannes Jansson/norden.org

Lately I’ve been reading a lot of non-fiction, and I’ve been falling behind on my fiction reading. So it’s time to catch up. 31 days, 31 fiction books, all in May. Why May? Because it’s next month, and the words “day” and “May” rhyme. I’m not claiming this idea as original – a quick google reveals a book a day has been done before. There are even websites dedicated, with varying degrees of determination, to the book-a-day theme.

So why not just start plowing through my towering “to read” pile? 2 reasons: accountability and sharibility. If I announce my intention, I’m much likelier to follow through. Plus I believe reading is awesome, and I promote the activity whenever I can. Why did I name it BookDayMay? It all started with Albert Berg’s* Flash Fiction February (FlashFicFeb) a couple years ago. One whole month devoted to the pursuit of completing the same specific activity per day. How obsessive admirable is that? Now it’s my turn.

So I present BookDayMay! Care to join me? All you have to do is read a book a day in May. For me it will be fiction books, and more in the short story / novella range. For you it can be any books. Fiction, non-fiction, adult, children’s. Paper, electronic. Stone tablet, rice. (Audiobooks squeak by, even though that’s not reading with your actual eyeballs.) Even booklets count, if you want to get technical. You can do this in secret, or you can shout your intention from the rooftops. Or you can leave a comment saying you’ll read a book a day in May and I’ll cheer you on. Or not.**

Here’s what I’m gonna do:

1. Every day in May I’ll read 1 book. I’m going retro and checking these paper books out of my local library. Plus I’ll be walking there and back with said books. Crazy retro, eh?

2. Twice a week in May on this blog, I’ll post what books I’ve read since my last post, and write a brief paragraph on each.

3. At the end of May, I’ll collapse in a heap and succumb to an ocular migraine. (I’m hoping this last step will be optional.)

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

*Speaking of Albert Berg, and for that matter, speaking of Tony Southcotte, check out my flash fiction tale “That’s not Snow” on the Human Echoes Podcast. (The transcript is under the podcast link.)

**BookDayMay not your thing? That’s OK! Get in on an experimental collaborative indie project here!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Wow, I can’t imagine finding time to read a book a day! But what fun that would be! A full time job, plus housework, plus writing…there’s no way I can do it. I hope you have fun with it, though!

    Reply
    • Yeah, it’s tough to imagine all those books in a single month, but I’m a fast reader. That’s my secret weapon. 😉

      Reply
  2. I love this idea! Sadly, I won’t be able to play. I just finished a spate of reading during the limbo between finishing the sixth book of my series and starting the seventh, and I know I won’t have time to continue reading for another thirty days. But I’ll watch your reading list and enjoy myself vicariously! Consider me your cheering section. 😉

    Reply
  3. You must be like my son: I give him, say, Titus Groan at 11 am on Saturday and check back in with him that evening at 7 pm and he’s half way through! He’s eleven…and when I question him about character, plot, etc, he’s dead accurate. I envy you guys: I cannot read that fast. I look forward to your updates (Days 5 and 8 have been fun..) I’ll cheer too!

    Reply
    • I’m glad you are enjoying my updates, and thanks for cheering me on! 🙂 I wonder if my library has Titus Groan, I hadn’t heard of that one . .

      Reply
      • Titus Groan is the first book in the Ghormenghast Trilogy by Mervyn Peake. I love those books

Leave a Reply

