La-De-Da-Na-No-Wri-Mo

o-PIC1-570

Jumpin’ on the NaNo Train again, but this time, I’m gettin’ all literary. Thumbin’ my nose at my usual genre plots. So what the heck is a “literary novel”?

Wiki says,

“To be considered literary, a work usually must be ‘critically acclaimed’ and ‘serious.’ In practice, works of literary fiction often are ‘complex, literate, multilayered novels that wrestle with universal dilemmas.’ “

Further burrowing into the wiki rabbit hole, I find it has something to do with art, beauty, and the way something tastes. Hmm…

Wanna hop on the NaNo Train? 50,000 words of literary, of genre, or of anything, in 30 days. Better hurry, though. This NaNo Train is ready to roll!

CHUGACHUGACHUGACHUGA

*****

UPDATE:

I won with 50187 words of literary novel!

2013-Winner-Vertical-Banner

HUZZAH!

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. When I tell someone that I’m writing a literary novel, that usually shuts them up. I never hear, “Huh, tell me about that.” I think everyone is perplexed by what type of novel it is (or isn’t). Good luck this month!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Ashlee! I would be the one who would say, “Huh, tell me about that.” Because really, I still don’t think I exactly know what a literary novel is.

      Reply
  2. Better you than me. I can’t write with abandon anymore. My inner editor says NO. Bwa ha ha.

    Seriously, good luck and have a great time with it!

    Reply
    • Thank you, Lauralynn! I’ve found WriMo is great for beating down my inner editor. Ed still puts up a great fight, but I get a workout from it. Builds up my stamina.

      Reply
      • Hey you, I was wondering where you’d gone to. I’m waiting to see your word count. I finished up with almost 4,500 words today. I need to rest, but I’m not sure whether that means watch a movie, read a book, or just collapse.

        That quote: “To be considered literary, a work usually must be ‘critically acclaimed’ and ‘serious.’ That’s BS. If it’s true, how can anyone write litfic? It has to be judged literary before it’s even written? Spare me!

  3. “It has to be judged literary before it’s even written.” Yes, I caught that too, which is surprising, considering I’m still recovering from Halloween.

    4,500 words?! Oh dear gods. Me, I think I’ll squeeze out a few paragraphs tonight. You know how a steam engine train strains and jerks and slips on the tracks when it’s getting started? That’s my NaNo Train. But by the end of week one, I’ll be CHUGACHUGACHUGGING along at top speed. Building up friction and momentum and all that. That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it. 😉

    Reply
  4. Literary can be mighty snazzy…and I can’t see you writing a not-snazzy literary novel. So drop the L-bomb and all the best with the November dash!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Christopher! I got derailed today (in the wee hours of the morning) digging a tick YESATICK out of my skin, then finding ANOTHER tick on me later in the day, but I think I’m calmed down enough now to hop back on the train. Country living.

      Reply
  5. How I hate all these labels invented by retailers so they know how to organise their book shelves! SD

    Reply

Leave a Reply

