I’m Not Just Crazy, I’m Mad!

the-mad-reviewer-reading-challenge-button

10 days into the new year, and still reeling from last month’s Infinite Jest of December, I have decided to embark on another book reading marathon. Only this time, it’s a year-long marathon, and it requires I also review the books I read. The Mad Reviewer Reading (Sunburned Nose*) Challenge 2014 comes courtesy of The Mad Reviewer Carrie Slager of The Mad Reviewer blog. The challenge has 4 reviewer levels for the year:

1.  Mad – 104 books

2.  Crazy – 52 books

3.  Slightly Sane – 26 books

4.  Sane – 12 books

I signed up for Mad… grrr…

Once a week on this blog I’ll post the reviews of 2 books I’ve read. (I’ll wedge in a few extra readings / reviews by the end of the year to get up to 104.) For this challenge, a “book” is either a novel or novella, fiction or non-fiction, in any genre / non-genre. Printed or ebooks only, audiobooks are outside the scope of this challenge. Each double review will be a separate blog post. I won’t be addressing any editing or formatting issues in any of the books, I will focus soley on the story. How the heck am I gonna read 104 books AND review them this year?! I have a secret weapon – I’m a fast reader. As long as the book is interesting, I’m able to read and retain the storyline quickly. Disclaimer: I’m not a professional reviewer, and I tend to rate books highly.

Here’s how I will structure my reviews:

1. Book title / author.

2. Oh-so-brief, non-spoiler synopsis.

3. A paragraph of my reaction to the story.

4. My recommendation. (I guess some people would find this book worthwhile in some universe somewhere; You’re taking your chances with this hit and miss book; This book renewed my will to live).

5. Where to find a copy of the book.

Wanna be a Mad / Crazy / Slightly Sane / Sane Reviewer? There’s still time, sign up here!

*I’m opting out of the “Sunburned Nose” part.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Wow, that’s MAD! I’ll look forward to the madness, though – have fun! 🙂

    Reply
  2. My 2014 reading plan is to read stuff I’ve already read (fiction). I’m allowing myself new non-fiction and fiction if a friend has a new book, but other than that, it’s rereading…and nowhere near as ambitious to your plans!

    Stay Mad!

    Reply
    • I will! grrr

      Good luck with your reading plan, maybe toward the end of the year I’ll have something to add to your “new book” list…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

