Something Wicked This Way Comes / Hard Winter The Novel (books 1 and 2)

Something Wicked This Way Comes / Ray Bradbury

Synopsis – A stormy carnival blows into town. Two boys witness the creeptastic goings-on, and at the same time are witnessed by the carnival villains. The boys alternately hide from and do battle with the carnival villains with the assistance of a boy’s dad.

Reaction – A true “story for boys.” I felt like a stereotypical Bradbury boy reading it – bold, defiant, full of youthful self-assurance and endless possibilities… Is there anything freer than a pre-pubescent mid-western boy in the 1950s, living in a rural town with a mystery to solve and a best friend to help solve it? Lots of physical, sweaty, action imagery in this poetic tale of youth versus age, will versus fear, and good versus evil. A delightful mix of soft horror and supernatural fantasy. A book for all ages.

Recommendation – This book renewed my will to live.

Get it here: http://www.amazon.com/Something-Wicked-This-Comes-Greentown-ebook/dp/B00C2C637I

*

Hard Winter The Novel / Neil Davies

Synopsis – Modern global warfare triggers an ice-pocalypse. A heartbroken survivor journeys away from the encroaching glacier, mythical monsters, and savage cannibal rapists towards an uncertain fate. Along the way, the survivor is wracked with unimaginable hardships, guilt, self-loathing, and loneliness. And cold. So much cold.

Reaction – Poor guy. I doubt I would have chosen to “keep on keeping on” as he did. I’m cold-blooded to begin with, and I need to eat on a regular basis. At the first sign of gangrene I probably would have fed myself to a monster. But this guy, for all his self-doubt, had pluck and luck. Some of his decisions were questionable, but who’s to judge when it’s the end of the world and you’ve lost everything? I’m even willing to forgive his odd habit of marking distance with the English system in England. A chilling post-apocalypse survival story full of snow and ice and bitter-cold bones.

Recommendation – This book renewed my will to live.

Get it here: http://www.amazon.com/Hard-Winter-Novel-Neil-Davies-ebook/dp/B00BFKOBFO

*

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Uh-oh. Looks like two more books on my To-Read pile. Thanks for this… I think… 😉

    Reply
  2. Anything that renews one’s will to live is always good, CM. And here’s two things! I shall keep my eyes peeled!

    Reply
  3. Hey CM – SWTWC is one of my faves. Bradbury in general is a fave. Glad you liked that one.
    I haven’t read Hard Winter but will definitely pick it up on your rec.
    Glad to hear you’re finding a renewed will to live!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

