First Contact (book 57)

Synopsis – Humans on a survey starship finally make first contact with technologically advanced alien life forms. Will these strange aliens be friendly? Hostile? Indifferent? Turns out they’re violent psychopaths bent on human destruction… according to human standards. And now the sole survivor of the starship – mysteriously spared by the alien warriors – must warn his species that their worst alien nightmare is about to come true. But are these alien freaks really so bad? Maybe they’re just misunderstood in their bloodlust. Plus they’re even giving their human prey some prep time…

Reaction – This book did not give me cancer.*An excellent supposition with a long, drawn-out execution. I appreciated the jettisoning of philosophical anthropomorphism, but this story of alien life with alien motivation could’ve been told in half as much space. The characters started out sketchy, and by the middle of the book, were further described only in their emotional engagement in life-and-death battle. Read this if you enjoy long, drawn-out battle scene after long, drawn-out battle scene…

Recommendation – You’re taking your chances with this hit and miss book.

Get it herehttp://www.amazon.com/First-Contact-Last-Trilogy-Book-ebook/dp/B004IPQE0I

*To my knowledge.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Thanks for the laugh! I’m glad the book wasn’t overtly carcinogenic, but I don’t think I’ll take the chance just the same.

    Reply
    • Yes, at least one person got cancer from reading this book. I took my chances (I was halfway through the thing when I found out anyway). But I don’t smoke, my diet is very healthful, and I get plenty of exercise.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

