My First Very Own Garden

I remember…

the 21st day of September…

like it was yesterday. Here’s a selection of what happened this past summer with my first very own container garden* at my very own place…

Sunflower sprouts.

Sunflower sprouts.

Sunflower with bee.

Sunflower with bee.

I'm pretty sure these are carrots.

I’m pretty sure these are carrots.

My glorious non-GM organic tomatoes! They are still green on the vine today. Do you also see the purple green bean? That was my most abundant crop.

My glorious non-GM organic tomatoes! They are still green on the vine today. Do you also see the purple green bean? That was my most abundant crop.

Corpse Plants growing near my compost pile.

Corpse Plants growing near my compost pile.

Next year I will expand my garden with more containers and more plants. In the meantime, my compost pile continues to grow…

*I live 1000 feet from a former Superfund site, so all the gardens in my neighborhood are container gardens.

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Love the sunflower sprouts – they look like a cross between snails emerging from their shells and little alien pod-beings! I’m suitably impressed that you managed to grow carrots in containers, too. I never have success with containers – I’m too used to gardening in the ground where I don’t have to water Every. Single. Day. My containers always end up dry and crispy.

    Enjoy those tomatoes when they ripen! Yum! 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks, Diane! The photos you posted of your garden inspired me. I work from home, so going outside to water my plants is a good break…

      My “little alien pod-beings”… yes, I was so proud when some actually turned into my favorite flower. 🙂

      Reply
  2. I used to work on a sprout farm…and the sunflower sprouts. To this day, one of my fave sammich ingredients!

    I have not had a garden since childhood. With the exception of the sprout farm, which fed me and my roommate some weeks, I have not grown much at all. But I look forward to the day I can — and while your garden is small, it is awesome in its own right. I hope it’s even better next year.

    (And on the subject of compost…the compost pile at the sprout farm was decent sized, and I will say that on those actual cold morning in Texas…being king of that mountain with the tiller — with its heat churning, and all its foul ingredients reduced…those were some of the best mornings of my life.

    Reply
    • Thank you for the words of encouragement, Christopher! 🙂 I play-worked in my mother’s and grandmother’s gardens growing up, then as an adult, helped out in one of my friend’s gardens. But now I get to have complete control over growing things. MUHAHAHA

      Next year I’ll have more containers and more variety, and I’ll see what I can do with windowsill, porch, and deck herbs…

      Reply
  3. Hi! Long time no see (I’ve been away from WP for too long). 🙂 Wow, I didn’t know you could do that much with containers. (I don’t have a garden these days.) Beautiful sunflower!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

