Newhart’s Inn

Last weekend my husband and I fulfilled one of my dreams and spent the weekend at the Stratford Inn (AKA Waybury Inn). I’ve always been a big fan of Bob Newhart and all his shows, especially Newhart. So a few years ago, when I googled “Stratford Inn” on a whim, I knew I had to make the pilgrimage.

The town of East Middlebury was much like the town ofย Norwich depicted in the intro to the show. But then we saw the bed and breakfast, and pulling into the parking lot, I thought Waybury Inn didn’t look much like Stratford Inn.

001.JPG

ย But I think that was because we were approaching it from an angle.

008

We stepped inside, and the lobby and tiny front desk looked nothing like the lobby and long front desk in the show.

038

I mentioned this to my husband, and he said, “Of course none of the episodes were filmed here, they were all filmed on a Hollywood set!” And so I asked the front desk clerk. She said only the exterior of the Waybury Inn was filmed, and that was for the intro to the show. She also said Larry, Darryl, and Darryl had visited the inn, but not Dick Loudon (Bob Newhart).

036.JPG

We had a charming time regardless, and enjoyed the scenic countryside and small town atmosphere. But before we left, I took a look around the nooks and crannies and saw Dick Loudon’s Stratford Inn…

039.JPG Shining Through…ย 

Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. I used to live about an hour south of there. I always loved that inn and wanted to stay there.

    Reply
    • I live about three hours away… the town and inn are so peaceful and relaxing. It’s like stepping into a different era.

      Reply
  2. Writers’ retreat! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
  3. Isn’t it a strange feeling, CM, when you expect somewhere to be exactly the same in real life as seen on TV, and then it turns out to be nothing like? There is always something that bridges the gap though, so it’s all good.
    I visited the town of Mystic in Connecticut when I was over in the USA several hundred Moons ago, and I recognised several sites that were in the movie Mystic Pizza. And one site in particular was actually a bridge! It was as though I was actually there. Hehehe! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply
  4. Stratford but not on Avon and not Stratford! Fun, though.

    Reply
  5. What camera are you using Cynthia? Those picture look fantastic! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Reply

Leave a Reply

